top of page

Intern Spotlight


Queenie Chen

Fall 2016 Intern

Lowell

Class of 2020

How has community service impacted your life?

Community service has brightened up and expanded my world. I made many new friends, and I had so much fun. It's really nice to help out and laugh with friends instead of sitting at home glued to a screen. I'm really thankful for all the fun and experiences I have gotten from volunteering.

When did you start volunteering with Heart In Motion?

I started volunteering not long ago and have only volunteered two days so far, but I plan on volunteering for as many events as I can. I found out about HIM when I saw a post about it and looked at the page due to curiosity. After volunteering, I found out how cool it is to meet other people that I have a lot in common with but wouldn't have ever met if not for volunteering with Heart In Motion. I started volunteering after the school year started, so it was kind of hard to wake up early. But trust me, it's totally worth a few hours of sleep.

Why did you start volunteering with HIM?

I started volunteering with HIM because I've always wanted to do something other than laying around at home on the weekends. After I joined the Internship Program, I realized that the people there were really nice and fun to hang out with. I signed up for the Giants Race and did not regret it at all. After that, I just fell in love with volunteering at HIM.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

I have only attended one event, but I volunteered both days on the Giants Race. I really liked working at Aid Station 3 for the Giants Race. I get competitive with everyday things for fun, so it was really fun to compete with others on who gave away the most drinks for the runners. Everyone was really hyped, including me. I had so much fun laughing and making new friends.

Which events did you enjoy the most? Why?

I have only attended the Giants Race so far, but I enjoyed it a lot. I was able to see friends I haven't seen in a while and also make new friends. It made me much more happier than sitting behind a screen. To be honest, I really liked the freebies I got there, including the shirt.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

My experience working with HIM has been nothing but good ones. It gave me a view on how many things are organized and done. Everyone was really nice and helped me whenever I needed help. I felt really invited and HIM really made me feel like I was part of them.

What are your favorite hobbies?

My favorite hobbies are reading, watching movies, hanging out with friends, and most of all, VOLUNTEERING! Volunteering gives me so much opportunities to do other things and increase my communication, leadership, and much more. I am a kind of energetic person, and volunteering is a great thing to spend my energy on. I get to have fun and also be able to help others.

What's your favorite part about volunteering with HIM?

My favorite part about volunteering with HIM is how it made me feel like I was part of the family. I never felt like I was an outsider. Everyone treated each other nicely and helped each other when necessary. It was really nice to have peers who you know are always going to be there for you.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page