top of page

Officer Spotlight


Emily Khuu

Enrichment Coordinator

Lowell

Class of 2018

How has community service impacted your life?

Community service has brought me lots of joy. I really like volunteering and getting so many chances to do it is even better. It gives me a chance to see all these different events that happen around me and all the people that participate in them. Through community service, I am able to interact with many people and help others.

When did you start volunteering with Heart In Motion?

I started volunteering with Heart in Motion in 2014. My friend told me about it and I decided to sign up for an event to try it out. I went to that event and ended up really liking it. All the people seemed really nice so I thought this would be perfect for me. I started signing up for more events and continue to enjoy it till this day.

Why did you start volunteering with HIM?

I really enjoy volunteering, so when I heard about Heart in Motion, I thought it would be a great opportunity to take. Hearing how easy it was to sign up for events and seeing all the variety of events it had, I thought, this was perfect and indeed it was. I love how there are so many events offered and so many people that volunteer for them. It was a way for me to stop staying at home and doing nothing.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

My favorite event would have to be my first event. I did Nike Women's Marathon and it was one of the longest events I have done. I did Expo AM and PM. I would have to say it is my favorite because I got to interact with a lot of the participants. Through this event, I was able to see how there were so many participants for this event. During my shift, there was pretty much always someone in line.

Which events did you enjoy the most? Why?

I enjoyed Nike Women's, Bay to Breakers, and Ghiradelli. Nike Women's and Bay to Breakers because they are both very big events. When volunteering for them, I got to see all these people that participate and see it in action. I like Ghiradelli because it was a different kind of experience. There were all these different booths that were selling chocolate and other products. The people that I helped were really nice and I really enjoyed working with them.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

My experience working with Heart in Motion has been great. I have been able to learn so many new things and experience new things. I got to meet lots of new people. Volunteering has helped me see things that I never even knew about. It gives me a chance to take part in something I love.

What are your favorite hobbies?

Some of my favorite hobbies are swimming, watching TV shows, and volunteering. I can stay at home for hours binge watching TV shows. Volunteering is also one of my favorite hobbies and Heart in Motion helps me fulfill this.

What's your favorite part about volunteering with HIM?

I love seeing the different events that happen in San Francisco. Honestly, before volunteering, I didn't know about pretty much all of the marathons and events that SF had. When I see all these events that Heart in Motion has, and go to them, it made me realize what I was missing out on. I love that I get to volunteer and take part in these events. I get to see all these things happening, not on my laptop, but in person, in action.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page