top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Monica Lui

Volunteer

Academy

Class of 2019

How has community service impacted your life?

It helped me gain work experience. It also helped me gain work ethic. I also got to meet a lot of people while volunteering! Community service helped me interact with people and gain social skills.

When did you start volunteering with Heart In Motion?

I started volunteering with HIM last year when I was a freshman.

Why did you start volunteering with HIM?

I wanted to volunteer with HIM because my friends were volunteering and I thought it was really cool. I wanted to gain work experience and I really enjoy volunteering in general. Also there's so many opportunities that I never knew about!

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

My favorite memory from HIM was volunteering at the Golden Gate Half with my friend who I haven't seen for a really long time. We had fun and it was really great to see him again and volunteer.

Which events did you enjoy the most? Why?

I enjoyed the Makers Faire at Presidio because it brought back nostalgia since I went there for middle school. It was fun to help little kids with the air rockets!

What's your favorite part about volunteering with HIM?

My favorite part of volunteering with HIM is making new friends along the way. Especially when you kind of know them, but you haven't really had a conversation until you start volunteering together.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page