top of page

Volunteer Spotlight

Jessie Lin

Volunteer

Lowell

Class of 2020

How has community service impacted your life?

There were several benefits of community service, such as being able to communicate better and interacting with more people. At my first event, which was the San Francisco Prop V campaign, where it was required to talk to people door-to-door, I stepped out of my comfort zone and talked to many people. This improved my courage and brought out my inner loudness.

When did you start volunteering with Heart In Motion?

During the mid fall semester of 2016 as a freshmen.

Why did you start volunteering with HIM?

Through the Lowell Heart In Motion club, my friends heard about it and wanted to join as a way to spend the weekends being productive instead of staying home all day. So I followed along and joined them because I did not want to be left out.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

The Lafayette Carnival, which was an event for an elementary school, has to be one of my most favorite events in Heart In Motion. I was able to interact with kids and see them have fun. Although sometimes they can be bratty, I still enjoy being with them and helping them out.

Which events did you enjoy the most? Why?

Other than Lafayette Carnival, I would also have to choose San Francisco Food Bank because although its a simple job, sometimes the people around you can make the experience worth while, so you can actually enjoy a repeated task. Also, it really resonates with me, how the rice that I packed for others to eat is the same rice that I receive from food bank because my family gets free food from them.

Have you volunteered with other community service organizations? How are they different from HIM?

No I have not, so this is my first community service organization.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

Working with Heart In Motion has been a blessing because its a way for me to connect and talk to more people and interact with other students and adults that either help out or need my help.

What are your favorite hobbies?

My hobbies include watching videos, drawing, and volunteering. It was only recently that I have started volunteering, but I really enjoy it and really have a lot of fun. Talking to people, hanging out with friends, and helping out are three things I like doing which can be done when I'm with Heart In Motion. Also, I enjoy gaming, which is a past time that I do most of the time while I am at home.

What's your favorite part about volunteering with HIM?

After every event, I always have a certain joy of seeing runners smiling after marathon or knowing that I had helped the community. Like, being able to help people makes me feel satisfied that I am giving to everybody and its very pleasing.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page