top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Celine Zhao

Volunteer

Washington

Class of 2020

How has community service impacted your life?

Community service has given me new experiences that taught me a variety of skills, including communication and leadership skills. With these skills, I've learned how to be a better person and help others that are in need.

When did you start volunteering with Heart In Motion?

I started volunteering with heart in motion in early September.

Why did you start volunteering with HIM?

I started volunteering because I wanted to give back to my community. I wanted to contribute and be part of a what changes the world in a good way. I want to learn new things and experience the outside world a lot more. This can help my future.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

My favorite memory from HIM is Lafayette Carnival. I was really happy when I saw the smile on the children's faces when they won. I was also with my friends, we were all cheering the kids and it really motivated and helped the kids to win. When I gave the kids their ticket, the word thank you really warmed my heart.

Which events did you enjoy the most? Why?

I enjoyed Golden Gate Half the most because it was really fun looking for bid numbers and pinning safety pins. Why I loved this event is during break time my friend and I got to look around and got free food. I liked it so much that I went both days. The next day was gear check and although it was tiring, it was like a puzzle looking for the runner'a gear and distributing it to them.

Have you volunteered with other community service organizations?

I haven't been volunteering at any organization other than Heart in motion.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

Working at HIM was fun, people were amazing. I definetly recommend it to people. HIM is a place where you can bond with your friends and help the community at the same time. Its a very fun and happy place to be.

What are your favorite hobbies?

My favorite hobbies are to listen to kpop, watch drama, and reading books. These make me feel really happy and relaxed. When I'm bored, I'll do one of these things. I'm very happy while doing it

What's your favorite part about volunteering with HIM?

My favorite part about volunteering is being with my friends and helping out the community. Receiving people's thanks and happiness just really makes me happy. I love helping out the community, because I know I helped someone. It's just a really good feeling


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page