top of page

Officer Spotlight


William Zhao

Events Coordinator

Lowell

Class of 2018

List the three things you would bring with you onto a deserted island and why.

If I was stuck on an island, I would definitely bring some of my favorite books to read whenever I get bored. I really like historical fiction novels because they're informative but not too boring. I would also bring a couple sets of puzzles to keep me occupied on the island. I'll bring my phone too and pray that there is a way to charge it on the island. It's very hopeful but I don't think I could survive without it.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

One of my favorite moments while volunteering is this one time where I was at a marathon or some other running event by the Marina. This was back when I was a freshman so I didn't really know anyone in HIM. The staff told us to wait off on the side so we just stood there awkwardly. After a while when they still hadn't come back to give us instructions, we started walking around and talking to each other. I met a couple friends who I still volunteer with to this day.

What kind of music do you listen to? Any favorite artists?

My music choices are extremely weird. It's a mix of every kind of genre but my favorite are songs from the '80s or '90s. I listen to songs like Zombies by The Cranberries that were released before I was even born. Another genre I like is instrumental music. I find it really relaxing to listen to while on the bus or doing homework.

What kind of food do you like to eat? Why?

I'm not a very picky eater so I enjoy all kinds of foods. If I had to choose a couple favorites, it would be a very specific kind of chocolate: Hershey's Cookies and Cream, chicken wings, and french fries. I think these are my favorites because they're snacking foods and not something you would eat by itself as a meal. I like the feeling of being able to eat them whenever I want.

If you could live in only one city for the rest of your life, where would you live? Why?

This is a really tough choice but I think if I could only live in one city, I would choose to stay in San Francisco. I was born in SF so I would feel a little homesick never being able to come back. There's also a great variety of food and people that makes San Francisco so great. Not only that, SF is close to a lot of national parks and other places that I love visiting.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

Back in middle school, I feel like I was a very selfish person. I always took things for granted and put myself above others. When I got into high school and started volunteering with HIM, I realized my personality was pretty bad and worked on improving it. I've met some really great people through HIM who taught me how to become humble and help others when needed.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page