top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Xinjian Cen

Volunteer

Lowell

Class of 2020

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

My favorite event was the Hot Chocolate Expo where we helped with the bib pick ups. I had a fun time volunteering with my friends and meeting new people. The computer QR code scanning system there was really cool. After we scan the QR code from the participant's email, the computer will automatically print out the stickers and we will stick them on to the runner's bid. We can also just search up the runner's name. When we searched their names up, their bib information would pop up really fast. Although there were a bit technical issues at first, it was really fun.

What is your favorite part of volunteering?

My favorite part of volunteering is that I can give back to my community and others who are in need of the help. Volunteering at many different events is a really fun experience. I learned new things every time and I got the chance to work with lots of other volunteers as a team. Volunteering also fills me with happiness and smiles.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

My experience with Heart in Motion has been great. Not only do I love volunteering, HIM also provides us really fun events like the Cherry Blossom Festival and Hot Chocolate Run. My first event I volunteered at with Heart in Motion was the Soda Tax Campaign where we go door-to-door giving information on the proposed soda tax. I felt kind of weird at my first event, mainly because I didn't know anyone. However, as time passed by, I started volunteer at more events and thus met new friends which was a very cool experience.

What kind of food do you like to eat? Why?

My favorite food is probably sushi and my favorite type is the California roll. The California Roll has cucumber, imitation crab, and avocado. I also can't live without pizza and boba.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

When I first started volunteering with Heart in Motion and realized how fun volunteering could be, it was not as boring as I thought volunteering would be. Volunteering is surprisingly fun and enjoyable. I love volunteering! Although sometimes it can be tiring, I still felt happy that I could help out my community. Volunteering with HIM also allows me to learn and discover a lot of new things that I never knew before and help me build up self-confidence and communication skills.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page