top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Yolanda Feng

Volunteer

Lowell High School

Class of 2018

Who inspires you to be the person you are today?

For awhile, I’ve been super hard on myself for the seemingly never ending things I was doing wrong. It was hard for me to kept up with the fast paced high school life. Through these ongoing obstacles, I was able to grow as a person and realize that not everything goes the way we want or expect, but hard work does pay off. Some of the amazing people I met within the last few years have inspired and influenced me so much I can surely say I wouldn’t be the same person I am today. The people who inspire me the most are my family, peers, and teachers. I look up to them in so many aspects, although they may not realize it. I don’t tell them enough, but I am forever thankful for all the people I’m surrounded by for sharing some of the most important memories to me, encouraging me, making me laugh uncontrollably, leading me, and even allowing me to grow and learn from them. Hearing others’ stories and thinking about the lyrics of various songs have also been a huge inspiration to me.

What kind of music do you listen to? Any favorite artists?

I listen to pop, R&B, EDM, OSTs, ballads, and sometimes even classical music. Some of my favorite artists I’ve been listening to include Troye Sivan, Adele, Alessia Cara, Far East Movement, Bruno Mars, and Ed Sheeran. Thanks to some of my friends, I have also become a huge fan of Korean R&B and pop (KPOP) music. My current favorite male group is Bangtan Boys (BTS) and girl group is Twice. I have been enjoying Twice’s songs because they’re very cheerful, upbeat, and catchy. I like BTS because I am able to relate to their songs, they produce and create their own songs, have funny personalities, and have amazing voices. BTS even won an award at the Billboard Music Awards this year. It is nice to see that the entertainment and music industry in American society is being more accepting of various genres and cultures.

What kind of food do you like to eat? Why?

My favorite foods come from various Asian cuisines. I like to eat Japanese ramen and katsu, Vietnamese Phở, and McDonald’s or In-N-Out burgers once in awhile. But of course, I enjoy the Chinese dishes my parents prepare for the family every night. I am probably going to miss homemade meals a lot when I go to college, so I have to appreciate and enjoy them as much as I can now. I can’t leave out milk tea drinks, mochi ice cream, French pastries, egg tarts, and other pastries. Korean BBQ, bibimbap, and bingsoo desserts are also favorites of mine.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

Heart In Motion has definitely impacted my high school experience. Through HIM volunteering events, I have been able to meet some super friendly and warm people, provide my time to help others, and gain experiences that could help me in my daily life and my future. Coming out super early on the weekends to volunteer has given me an excuse to not just lazily sleep in, but it has also taught me that even my smallest actions such as directing a lost person or moving boxes of food actually do help. It is also motivating to see the positive energy, even during long hours cold or hot weather, as my fellow volunteers work together.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page