top of page

Intern Spotlight


Winnie Situ

Spring '18 Intern

Lowell

Class of 2021

If time travel was possible, what year would you travel to?

I would probably travel back to sometime in the 90s! Everything seems so different now than how things were 20 years ago. The clothes, the fashion trends, the music, etc. And I think it would also be interesting to see a world without iPhones and iPads haha!

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

So far, I’ve only volunteered at a few events from HIM, but my favorite event has to be the Kaiser Half Marathon! I had to cut up and hand out bananas, which I thought would be boring at first. But I ended up really enjoying it! The most exciting part was when the runners finished and were heading toward all the snack tents. The bananas were running out pretty quickly, so everyone was busy cutting and passing them out, cutting and passing them out. It was actually a lot of fun!  

What is your favorite part of volunteering?

My favorite part of volunteering is definitely helping others with whatever they need help with. I usually volunteer with friends, so volunteering is really fun and goes by super fast! After volunteering, I always feel satisfied and happy, knowing I helped give back to the community. Volunteering not only strengthens our community, it helps create bonds and friendships too! 

How has your experience been working with HIM?

I love being a part of HIM! HIM has helped me become a lot more social and has also taught me how to communicate with people. From working with HIM, I’ve learned that volunteering is more than just “community service”. It’s genuinely a labor of love. 


What is your favorite TV show? Favorite character?

My favorite TV show is definitely “Fresh Off the Boat“! It’s an American sitcom about an Asian family that moves from the Chinatown area in DC to Orlando. When they finally get to Florida, they realize there aren’t a lot of Asians and the majority of the population is white. They have to get used to their new life with their “weird” neighbors and their “weird” habits. My favorite character is probably Jessica Huang (who is the mom in the family) because she’s really funny and reminds me of my mom haha! 

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

It’s so hard to choose only one thing that I could eat for the rest of my life because I love food! I love fruit, sushi, bread, pizza, desserts, etc. But if I HAD to choose one, then I would probably choose burritos because they’re SO GOOD! I could never get sick of them haha! 


How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has really helped me get out of my comfort zone. I talk a lot more than I did before, that’s for sure haha. I remember going to my first event and having to pass out water to the runners, but I was too shy to yell out “Water!”, so I kinda just said it quietly. I’m pretty sure no one could hear me haha! But now after volunteering a few more times, I’m a lot more confident and outgoing.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page