top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Matthew Thurman

Volunteer

South San Francisco High School

Class of 2021

If time travel was possible, what year would you travel to?

If time travel was possible I would probably travel to 3050 because even though I won’t know what would happen, it would be interesting to see how the world has changed. Also, I would like to see how much technology and society has improved.

If you has the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be?​

If I had the power to change the world I would stop all the racism that’s going on because it’s really irritating how people treat others badly just because of the negative stereotypes or the bad things people with a higher social ranking say about people of color.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?​

One of my favorite events from HIM would be Bay to Breakers. Mainly because it was my first event and the only one I’ve been to. It’s my favorite because it was pretty fun handing out food to the runners and seeing all their different costumes. Also, we got some free coffee and food.

What is your favorite part of volunteering?

My favorite part of volunteering is knowing that we put a smile on their face when we help them as well as that sense of accomplishment when you help others.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

I haven’t been working with HIM for long but I’d say that it’s been pretty good. HIM has helped me to become more sociable and outgoing which is especially helpful because I’m pretty shy to people I just met.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

It would be to not really care about the negative things people say about you because then you would spend all your time just worrying about it. Just don’t spend all your time worrying about it and just do your thing without really caring about all the bad things people say.

What is your favorite TV show and character?

MY FAVORITE TV SHOW WOULD BE ONCE UPON A TIME! I love it so much but I wouldn’t really know how to explain it all since there’s been 7 seasons AND A LOT HAS HAPPENED. My favorite character would be Regina because she show that even though your a villain and the world throws a lot of challenges at you, you can still get a happy ending.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life it would probably be potatoes because you can make a lot of things with them like noodles, fries, chips, and mashed potatoes.

What is one of your favorite childhood memories?

One of my favorite memories would be playing with my dog Polo because he was my first dog. It’s one of my favorite memories because now that he’s gone I really miss him and it’s one of my most cherished memories.

How had HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has really affected my life in a positive way. It has helped me to make new friends and helped me to learn that I need to go out of my comfort zone sometimes to learn and try new things that I might even like.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page