top of page

Intern Spotlight


Kelly Higa

Internship Coordinator

Lowell

Class of 2021

If you could live in only one city for the rest of your life, where would you live? Why?

I would live in San Francisco because there's still several opportunities and so much more to explore here. I would also be able to stay close with my parents and other relatives that live in the Bay Area. Additionally, I don’t think I can handle extreme temperature changes because I'm so used to the weather being less than 70 degrees everyday.

Who inspires you to be the person you are today?

My mom inspires me to be the person that I am today. Everyday, she continues to amaze me because I can see her strong work ethic towards every aspect in life and it has rewarded her with much success today. Furthermore, my mom has endlessly spoiled me because she cares so much about my happiness. I realize that my mom has never received half of what she has given me even during her own childhood and I should be more appreciative for my opportunities in life. Most importantly, my mom has a great heart and makes me strive to become a better person, whether it’d be working hard in school or becoming more involved with my community through organizations like Heart in Motion.

List the three things you would bring with you onto a deserted island and why.

If I were to bring three things with me onto a deserted island, I would bring a sailboat, fishing net, and money. I would bring the sailboat because I would want to reach home right away and will need some way to travel towards the nearest inhabited land. I would use the fishing net to catch some food in the ocean if I get hungry during my sailing journey. Once I arrive at the shore of a village or a city, I will use the money to purchase a plane ticket back home and other necessities such as food, water, clothes, toiletries, etc.

What is the one thing people misunderstand about you?

One common thing that people misunderstand is that I have perfect grades because I attend Lowell High School. A lot of people assume that all Lowell students are smart and school is too easy for them. However, Lowell is a super challenging school that has really pushed me to work harder this past year. The school has such a rigorous workload that may prepare us well for college, but the students do have to work hard to achieve the success and balance in their lives.

What are some big challenges you had to overcome? How did you overcome these challenges?

The biggest challenge that I’ve had to overcome is learning how to gain more self confidence. I used to be a really shy person with only a few good friends because I was scared that people wouldn’t like me for being me. At times, I felt incapable of doing certain tasks because I felt I wasn’t good enough. Throughout these past couple of years, it took me time to discover myself and really be satisfied with my life. To overcome this challenge, I have been talking and surrounding myself with positive people that have common interests and are willing to listen and accept all my flaws that makes me the person I am today.

Beside necessities, what is the one thing you cannot live one day without?

Besides necessities, I don't think I can live one day without internet access. This generation is super dependent on technology because we rely on it for almost everything. Without phones or computers, I wouldn’t be able to communicate with family and friends on a daily basis, access several online applications for school related assignments, save photos of all my memories, download music, watch movies and television shows, track when the next bus is coming, and much more. In HIM, we also depend heavily on the internet to sign up for events and communicate with our members, interns, and officers effectively.

What is your favorite movie of all time?

I don’t have a favorite movie because I spend more time watching TV shows. Some of my favorites include Pretty Little Liars, Gossip Girl, The Royals, Teen Wolf, The Vampire Diaries, Riverdale, 13 Reasons Why, and Insatiable.

What do you think of HIM Internship Program?

The HIM Internship Program is super organized and within these two and a half months, I have learned how much work it really takes to run such a successful organization. I have also been able to obtain several leadership and professionalism skills that I will definitely use in the future. The program has strengthened and challenged my work ethic, commitment, time management, and verbal & written communication. Furthermore, it’s amazing how the internship program is led by officers that have been previous interns within the HIM organization and it makes our leadership family more closely connected.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has gave me a much more positive outlook on my life and has allowed me to really appreciate and give back to my community. I’m so glad I have this opportunity to help several people all over the city from various age groups, backgrounds, and neighborhoods whether it’d be volunteering at marathons, elementary school fairs, or the SF Food Bank. It’s such a great feeling to have people thanking you for the simple things that you have provided and knowing you’re helping others and making the world a much safer and warmer place for everyone.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page