top of page

Officer Spotlight


Ivan Lujan

Junior Internship Coordinator

Lowell Class of 2021

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I was invisible for 10 minutes I would have to freak out my friends and family to see their bewildered faces. Also pretending to be a ghost to strangers would be comedy gold.

What motivates you the most?

The thing that motivates me the most is knowing that good comes out of everything. Even when tests come up, I know that learning from my mistakes will make me a better student. In the case of being an officer, I learn so much about qualities that I would've never have improved on before joining leadership and having that mindset motivates me the most.

How important do you think It Is to ‘Build Character’?

Building character is no doubt important, especially that your character must be good in many fields such as work and teamwork. This is one of the main reasons I'm in leadership to build my own character and be a qualified person.

What is your current HIM position and what are your responsibilities in that position?

My position in Heart in Motion is a Junior coordinator in the Internship department. My responsibilities in this department include creating lessons and using lesson plans to educate new incoming members.

How do you want to be remembered?

I want to be remembered as someone who was always a fun guy even when at his lowest and someone who looked for the light in the darkest of times. This is because I always aspire the fact that life only comes around once and being happy is the best way to spend your time.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

My most valuable life lesson I've learned is saying "yes" and trying out things you never would've is never a bad thing. Trying new things has always been my motto and one lesson I try to apply to my daily life as you never know what you want until its gone.

What is your favorite TV show and character?

My favorite TV show has got be "The Big Bang Theory" and my favorite character from that show is

Raj Koothrappali since he usually makes me die of laughter.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

Ceviche would have to be my choice as the only food to have for the rest of my life. The origin of this delicacy is from Peru which is where my heritage is from as well. Spice is my absolute favorite thing to have on a dish and the fact that it contains seafood is a match made in heaven.

What is it like to be part of HIM Leadership Crew?

In Heart in Motion being part of the Leadership Crew is an amazing learning experience with my first time being a mentor. We also treat ourselves as one big family with each one of us looking out for each other and helping each other out to become better leadership members.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

Heart in Motion has definitely made me become more dedicated and compassionate in the service that I provide. I also massively improved my communication skills with others while coming out of my comfort zone as a more social person.

If you volunteered at the Hot Chocolate Run, what was your motivation to wake up so early?

Waking up was definitely hard to do but the fact that I was going to be helping the event and as well as knowing that many people would have a smile on their faces after the race was enough to push through.

What advise can you offer to those thinking of joining the Leadership Program?

Make sure you know what you're signed up for because dedication and involvement in the program is a necessity. Laziness is definitely not tolerated as this program promotes leadership. With that being said make sure you communicate with the other members and have a good time responsibly.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page