top of page

Officer Spotlight


Emily Sun

Junior Internship Coordinator

Lowell Class of 2022

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

I'm in my house right now, so I would go downstairs and seek revenge on my little brother. He always takes his Nerf gun and shoots me when I'm trying to relax or do homework, so I'm gonna return the favor by giving him a taste of his own medicine. And once I'm done with that, I'm gonna sit on the couch and turn on the TV in peace while I slowly become visible again. Then, after a few minutes, he'll come in the room crying saying he was being shot by a ghost and I'll hug him while laughing in satisfaction.

What motivates you the most?

One thing that motivates me most is food. Many might consider it absurd but it somehow motivates me to workout. I try harder knowing that afterwards I can eat food I deserve with less guilt and more satisfaction.

How important do you think It Is to ‘Build Character’?

Character is one of the many things that define us as individuals. It's what separates us from everybody else, or does the opposite by blending us in with everybody else. As we grow, our character grows with us. It adapts to our experiences, lifestyles, work ethics, views, and other things that progress and change over time. That is why building a character suitable to you and your needs is very important in life. Without it, we would be no where near as developed as we are today.

What is your current HIM position and what are your responsibilities in that position?

I’m currently a junior coordinator in the Internship department. My responsibilities include teaching interns about Heart in motion and our different departments and positions which may help them decide the department they want to go into after the term ends.

How do you want to be remembered?

I don’t really know how to answer this question as I'm still young, and don't exactly know what I want my legacy to be. But for now the logical thing to say is that I want to leave this earth as someone that helped, not hindered. I want to be someone people will remember for positive reasons and not as somebody that hurt others. I think that's what anybody would want to be remembered by.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

In life I do things things one of three ways. One is to use your brain to process things, another one is to follow your heart or your gut by using your personal intentions, and the last way is to just say Yolo. Those are the things I decide between every single day, they make up my drive and mindset in life.

What is your favorite TV show and character?

My favorite TV show is family guy, it is a mix if comedy, drama, and action. All the characters are iconic and the voice actors portray them perfectly. Although its a very debatable and controversial show, it's always able to make me smile. That is why it's my favorite show.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of your life, I would eat mangos. They are sweet, sour, and can be used as food, drink, and combined with almost anything. I have quite the sweet tooth so when they are ripe it's a nice snack. There are too many foods to just choose one, but mango is definitely one of my favorites.

What is it like to be part of HIM Leadership Crew?

Being a part of the Heart In Motion leadership crew has been such a huge honor. It's like being a part of a huge family where we all work together to make a difference in our community. Through Heart In Motion I’ve made many friends from volunteering and the Leadership Program.

If you volunteered at the Hot Chocolate Run, what was your motivation to wake up so early?

Although I am someone who believes heavily in getting "beauty sleep", I also believe that in life you either say yolo, or you do what you gotta do. So that morning when I heard the alarm ring after snoozing it 5 times, debating whether or not to wake up, I chose to do what I got to do and wake up. I enjoyed it just as much as all the other events I've attended. It was really nice seeing the smile on peoples faces after they finish the race.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page