top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Ivy Lin

Volunteer

Lowell Class of 2022

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I were to be invisible for 10 minutes, I would go downstairs and take the car for a drive. Even though I can’t drive, it would be funny swerving around the block and scaring other drivers. They would just see a random car being driven by no one. Also, it’d scare my parents because their car is missing and so is their daughter.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

If I could change one thing in the world, I’d end world hunger. Food tastes so good and people shouldn’t be deprived from it. Ending world hunger means that people wouldn’t starve to death and the homeless wouldn’t need to beg for change to get McDonald’s.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

My ideal way of spending the weekend is to go to dragon boat practice and eating a nice dinner afterwards. Also, I’d want to binge watch Netflix for hours and not have to worry about finishing homework. Just a relaxing day with friends would be nice too.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one thing, I’d eat sushi because it’s one of my favorite foods. Sushi could be made with so many different fillings and each type could taste completely different. With such a large variety, it’d be hard to get bored of it, making it the best food to eat for the rest of my life.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I’ve learned is to not care about what people think of you and just always be yourself. It sounds cliche, but you should never change yourself to satisfy someone. It’s also easier to be yourself because you don’t have to worry about being a certain way just to gain someone’s approval. People will like you for you and those are the only people you need.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

I would be a biomedical engineer because I love science. Biology is quite interesting and I’ve always wanted to do something medical related. It would be fun doing something I actually enjoy and not having to worry about what I’m earning every second.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

I get to see the friends I’ve made through HIM. Also, waking up so early prevents me from staying in bed until past noon. Instead, I would be busy helping people and making new friends with people at the event. It may be a hassle waking up, but the time I’m there goes by pretty quickly and it’s quite fun.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations?

I looked forward to the Hot Chocolate Run because I heard that you basically run a chocolate factory. It definitely lived up to my expectations because we got to make lots of hot chocolate and fondue. It was nice having a hands-on activity instead of just standing around the course. Also, it was the one event where I didn’t freeze to death. It was actually quite warm inside the tent and it smelt really nice.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

It has been really fun because I get to see people I don’t normally see. Therefore, I get to make new friends that I don’t normally see. It has been kind of difficult waking up because I’m a night owl, but the amount of fun I have at these events makes up for that.

How has HIM affected your life so far?It has allowed me to work with people I’ve never even met before, therefore, making friends I probably would’ve never made. It has taught me the importance of communication and teamwork because some of the tasks we do involve completing them in a timely matter.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page