top of page

Intern Spotlight


Sydney Vy

Spring '19 Intern

California High School

Class of 2021

What website do you visit most often?

The website I'd say I visit the most is YouTube. I use YouTube to get to know materials from school because I learn better when given a visual. I also listen to music, watch vlogs, bullet journal making, and basically use it as my main source of entertainment. I use it in my free time and it is sometimes the source of my procrastination as well since I get a little carried away sometimes.

Who inspires you to be the person you are today?

The most inspirational people to me are my family and friends because they motivate me to work harder and to reach my goals. Specifically one of my best friends, Kylie Dang, has always been super supportive in helping to give me advice on the smallest of topics. She's always there if I'm feeling down or if I just have the urge to rant and she makes the perfect comments in return. My mom is also very inspirational to me because she balances her own errands while taking care of me and my two siblings. She's very organized, hard working, and her cooking is delicious. She drives me to all the events I've ever participated in no matter how far or early it is. I hope to be as compassionate and dedicated as she is when completing her tasks in the future.

Where would you spend all your time if you could?

I'd probably be boring and spend all of my time in my room considering it has all the necessities I need. A bed, a phone, and some snacks are my basic needs. When it comes to free time, I tend to go for the lazier activities like sleeping or watching YouTube since being in my room is usually my time to rest. To an extent, I'd say my room is a paradise for me. A place where I can truly be myself and take a break from reality.

What is the one thing people misunderstand about you?

People believe I'm very quiet. Which is partially true, so it's not much of a misunderstanding, but a lot of new people I've met recently have said that I'm only quiet for the first few minutes. After a quick hi and getting to know each other more, I find ways to start a conversation and keep it going because long silences make me feel uncomfortable.

Beside necessities, what is the one thing you cannot live one day without?

Music. My life would be so dreary and gloomy without my music. Without music, I wouldn't be able to drown out minor noises like the tapping of the keyboard when my bother plays his computer games. It's a complete necessity in my life considering I find entertainment and comfort in the lyrics of my favorite songs. I like trying different genres and listening to music while studying or doing homework. I also play an instrument and am in band in school, so music has an important role in my life.

If you could make one rule that everyone had to follow, what rule would you make?

Be open minded. This might seem more like a command or idea, but I'd put it as a rule since most of our thoughts today tend to be influenced by social media. If one person thinks of something and they make a post about it. This might go viral and everyone starts to think that way. But if people were open minded, the world would be more accepting and less stereotypical.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

The people involved in the run motivate me the most. People like those participating in the race, running or walking. People that help organize the event by directing us volunteers or giving instruction. These people motivate me because they take time out of their lives to organize or take part in these events so it gives me a sense of accomplishment when I contribute to helping as well. I always enjoy the occasional thank you's that are given to volunteers by runners coming by too.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has made me a more confident and outgoing. I've learned how to speak up more and engage in more activities. I've met a lot of new people and learned to value volunteering more. Every event I do, starts out with a little bit of nervousness and a lot of excitement for the fun to come. I became more organized and adaptable to my environment because every event comes with a different experience.

What do you think of HIM Internship Program?

The program is really beneficial and requires a lot of dedication. You meet a lot of like-minded people who genuinely enjoy volunteering. I like learning and completing tasks given. Overall, the program is engaging and a good motivation to commit yourself to tasks.

If life is a game, like some people say, what are some of the rules?

I'd use cliche or well-known quotes like "You only live once," or "Failure is good." -unknown to use as rules for the game. I believe everyone should be aware that you only live once, so you should live your life to the fullest and go past your comfort zone. When taking risks, I find that majority of the time, I feel more accomplished and I enjoy myself more. With the idea that failure is good, I don't restrict myself and am able to motivate myself to look past my mistakes or learn from them. I always think about this when living life or just playing a simple game because games depend on your strategy. Sometimes risks end in winning the game or on the other hand, you lose some points. Either way, you're still gaining experience to do better next time.

What do you want to be remembered for?

I don't think I wanted to be remembered specifically as a person, but rather my actions and the commitment i put into the activities that I do. It's always nice to see your work complete after working so hard and when people remember your hard work, it makes everything a lot nicer. I'd like to be remembered for being a passionate person who dedicated herself to her interests.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page