top of page

Officer Spotlight


Hannah Ng

Internship Junior Coordinator

Balboa High School

Class of 2021

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I was invisible for 10 minutes right now, honestly I think I would just take a nap. Finals have been extremely stressful, so it would be really nice to just unwind from all the busyness and stress. Just 10 minutes is a only a little bit of time, but it’s probably going to be great being invisible through taking a nap without being bothered and stress free. There could be a lot of cool things I could do, but I think i’ll just stick to that :)​

What motivates you the most?

“Live your life to the fullest” is really a motto I go by. I tell myself that the day will eventually pass by very quickly, which is why I need to cherish every moment. This motivates me to work my best in most situations. I want to be the best person I can be every single day whether it be in volunteering, school, and just everyday in life. ​

How important do you think It Is to ‘Build Character’?

In my opinion, I think building character is really important because it reflects on how I can grow over time. It really is a process of maturity and it helps me become more of a leader. Leaders are confident, and I see being confident as a very unique characteristic that helps one stand out. I hope to build character, which can then lead to becoming a leader.​

What is your current HIM position and what are your responsibilities in that position?

Currently I am a junior coord in internship department. My responsibilities are teaching new interns and ensuring that they know how HIM is run. I mentioned earlier how I love helping others and teaching is just one way I am able to help others. I am constantly trying to make sure that I clear any confusions interns have. Overtime I have been able to find ways to tweak my lessons so that interns understand the material they learn better and easier. Also, I am currently extremely honored to be the president of Balboa’s HIM school club. I have the responsibilities of running the club and giving information about upcoming events. I help members with any issues and questions they have. Lastly, I am responsible for signing and issuing community service hours.​

How do you want to be remembered?

I want to be remembered as a caring person. I love helping others and I hope that people can acknowledge me that I really do care about people. I think kindness is a huge deal and it can heal people. I want to heal and help others in times of trouble. If I can help someone, it really makes me happy that I was able to be of help. ​

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I have learned in life is to cherish my loved ones. Although (thankfully) I haven’t lost any of close loved ones yet, it finally hit me that I really need to thank those who really care about me before it is too late. This goes for my grandma who is one of my biggest role models. I love her so much and I learned that I need to be with her and cherish the time I have left with her. I hope to never take the time I have with her for granted.​

What is your favorite TV show and character?

These days I don’t really watch TV anymore, but I grew up watching Disney Channel. One of my favorite TV shows were Girl Meets World, which was a spinoff of Boy Meets World. I really liked that show because it showed real issues of what some teens actually go through and the acting was good. I don’t think I have a specific favorite character though.​

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

The answer is simple and that would be rice! Rice is the staple for my family, as I grew up eating it as an (almost) day to day basis. Rice has got that really nice soft, chewy texture that just pairs with so many sides which is why it is so delicious. Rice is amazing and it also reminds me of my Chinese culture. By the way, white rice is superior. ​

What is it like to be part of HIM Leadership Crew?

It’s been really fun running the “behind the scenes” of HIM. It definitely feels like a community works together to make sure volunteer events run smoothly. I feel really proud of being part of a huge organization that helps out various events like the food bank to many different marathons. I’m glad to be part of it!​

How has HIM affected your life so far?

I have been able to meet lots of new people and volunteer at super fun events with my friends. I always liked volunteering and HIM was the way I was able to sign up and volunteer. HIM has affected on how I need to manage my time more wisely and not procrastinate too much. I definitely feel more responsible after joining HIM and that’s a really good thing. I hope to continue to grow in various communication skills that help me become a better leader.​

What motivates you to wake up before 5:00 AM to volunteer for a Charity Run?

I was motivated to wake up early because I was able to see my friends really early in the morning. Being together with my friends extremely early in the morning was really exciting to me. Also, Hot Chocolate Run was my first mandatory event, so I was curious on how it would turn out. I needed community service hours for school and I was looking forward to the event in hopes of finishing up my hours.​

What advise can you offer to those thinking of joining the Leadership Program?

The leadership program is really great if you are trying to gain skills of becoming a leader, which is really helpful in the future! This includes gaining skills of responsibility and improvement of time management. Tasks are given to insure HIM runs smoothly, as hundreds of high school kids in SF volunteer with us. Not to mention, the leadership program will look great on college and on your resume :)​


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page