top of page

Intern Spotlight


Emma Yu

Summer '19 Intern

Lowell

Class of 2022

What website do you visit most often?

Out of all the websites I visit on a daily basis, the one I visit most often is probably YouTube. Whether I need a guitar lesson, a news briefing, or even just background music while I work, YouTube is my absolute go-to site. Also, YouTube keeps me up-to-date and in touch with the world. Without it, I practically live under a rock!

Who inspires you to be the person you are today?

My grandparents inspire me to be who I am today. Whenever I feel like giving up, I just remember all the hard work they had to face to even get me that opportunity in the first place. Let’s be real, memorizing the quadratic formula is nothing compared to coming to a completely foreign country without speaking the language. Beside encouraging me and supporting me in everything I do, they also help keep me tied to my roots. I appreciate all the time they take to teach me our family traditions and I hope to pass them on to future generations.

Where would you spend all your time if you could?

If I could, I would spend all my time at an observatory way out in the middle of nowhere so that it'd be dark enough at night to see the stars. I would lie on my back for hours, staring at the sky to marvel at all the secrets and wonders of the universe. It'd be a rare treat for someone like me, who lives in a city! I would also learn astrophotography and take plenty of pictures so that I could really show the world how mysterious the universe is and how much we still have yet to learn.

What is the one thing people misunderstand about you?

A lot of people get the first impression that I have a "Type A" personality. I totally get why they think this as I tend to seem anxious, stressed, and rigidly organized at times (more often than not, to be honest!) However, they'd be surprised at how much I actually just prefer to relax and do nothing. Whenever I can, I think it's always more important to just chill.

What would you do if you knew you were going to die in one hour?

If I knew I was going to die in an hour, the first thing I’d do is probably cry since my life is pretty awesome :). Then, I’d go to my grandma’s house and ask her to make my favorite noodle soup for my last meal. Next I’d film a video of myself, for all my friends and family to watch, thanking them for the wonderful life I had with them. Lastly, I’d crawl into my comfy bed at home with a bowl of popcorn and watch Netflix with my parents and sister until the time comes.

Beside necessities, what is the one thing you cannot live one day without?

Besides necessities, I definitely wouldn’t be able to live without someone to talk to. Oddly enough, I find that even though I consider myself an introvert, I will go crazy if I go through even one day without any social interaction. It doesn’t take long before I start talking to myself! This is why I shudder at the thought of living alone.

If you could make one rule that everyone had to follow, what rule would you make?

If I could make one rule everyone had to follow, it’d be simple - just be kind. Be kind to the planet, be kind to yourself, and, of course, be kind to each other! And even if it seems that this rule would be impossible for everyone to follow, I believe that kindness is contagious. Sometimes all it takes is just one act of kindness for it to spread like wildfire.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

Honestly, waking up early doesn’t really seem so bad once I think about what all the runners are about to endure. At least I don’t have to wake up early AND exercise! Plus, I get to see the sunrise and I’m usually too excited to meet up with friends to think about anything else. There’s also something oddly magical about the streets of SF at four in the morning.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

In the one year I’ve been volunteering with HIM, I’ve made new friends, I’ve learned things about the world, and I’ve learned things about myself. I don’t usually travel around the city much, so each event was basically a whole new adventure (especially when I get lost). It’s also really cool being able to interact with people from all around the world and you never know when you might be checking the bag of an Olympic gold medalist! Perhaps the most interesting thing I learned about myself is that I actually like being up in the morning, the hardest part is simply waking up.

What do you think of HIM Internship Program?

Even though it’s only been a couple of weeks since I started, I feel that so much has happened since. I am so fortunate to have been able to meet so many people at the orientation, which I feel is especially important since most of our training is done online. I was also really impressed by how organized and structured everything is. I do have to say, after getting a firsthand experience into all the work that goes on to prepare for each event, I have a much deeper respect for everyone in Leadership!

If life is a game, like some people say, what are some of the rules?

If life is a game, time would definitely be the currency. In the end, time is an irreplaceable resource and it’s what gives everything else value. Life is also a game of chance. Though a pair of dice may outline your life, however, it is ultimately up to you to fill it in. And the end goal? Just some good, old fashioned love.

What do you want to be remembered for?

As much as I would want to be remembered for saving the world from an alien invasion or finding a cure for a disease that was turning everyone into zombies, I think that deep down inside I really just want to do something fulfilling, no matter how small the action may be. I think what I truly want to be remembered for is inspiring people. I want to inspire people to be the best version of themselves everyday and leave the world in a better state than they’d entered it in. There’s only so much one person can do, but if the entire human race works together, the sky’s the limit!


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page