top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Charles Rolph

Volunteer

Lowell High School

2022

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I became invisible right now I would go swim in the river right next to the lodge I’m staying at. My mom almost drowned in a river and she never lets me swim in them. I love swimming even tho I’m not great at it, but being in the water is the most peaceful feeling in the world.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

If I could change one thing in this world it would be absolutely nothing. I believe everything happens for a reason, and we have little to no control over what falls into place in our lives. I hate the idea of going back in time just to do it all over again seems pointless to me. Living in the moment is what life is all about.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

On the weekends I’m either relaxing, running, hanging out, reading, or volunteering. When I have no weekend plans Saturday is the only good day, because Sunday is full of homework and the countdown till the next school week. Every weekend I’ll run about 7 miles and eat loads and loads of food. Cross country and Track are my main sports and the weekend is no rest period if you want to win.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

The only food I would be able to stand for the rest of my life is bread, there are millions of different types of bread from all over the world. There are different flavors, textures, and nutrients in every type. Bread pared along with a matching beverage can be the best snack or meal anyone could ask for.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I have ever learned is that life is about making the most out of what u have. I used to collect shoes and at one point I owned 56 pairs. That was in July of 2018 and I realized that I really only wore about 10 of them. Since then I have gotten rid of about 23 pairs and I’m wearing a different pair almost everyday. I related this lesson to other objects in my life, and realized that having less extra things can make your life run loads smoother. Sure it’s good to have back ups, but being a hoarder is horrible.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

If all jobs had the same pay I would totally be a coach or PE teacher. In the past I’ve been an assistant coach basketball for my elementary school and a volunteer to work with kids after school. I love working with kids, and being able to teach them about physical activity and sports would be an amazing job. I would teach middle school or high school and make a difference in their lives.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

My motivation to wake up early isn’t about the Charity or the money, it’s about helping people out in person. Passing a water to a serious kick butt San Francisco runner is just about as great as it gets. One day I want to be in their shoes and I want to look into the eyes of the volunteer That I once was. I’ve always been an early bird so waking up at 4 is no buggy for me. I like that out work is going for a good cause, but seeing those athletes in action is the best.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations?

I most looked forward to my first event ever, the hot chocolate run. It was the first time I’ve ever had to wake up before 5 to get somewhere on time. The morning was cold and packed with people. There were loads and loads of volunteers that morning and in almost an instant people started showing up. I was so pumped when they gave us running jerseys for free! I had no idea. And the joy of handing out chocolate and snacks to those proud runners was a new experience, and I couldn’t wait for next time.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

Working with HIM had been a pleasure so far, everything always works out. I love the people in the organization and the Events we get to participate in are always exciting. I appreciate the food and shirts they provide for us and everything is well organized.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has affected my life by giving me new opportunities and experiences. It lets me see more of the real world and puts volunteer hours on my college apps. I love the people and have made new friends through the organization. It’s a nice addition to my life and I am so happy I joined. There haven’t been a single event I regretted to attend.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page