top of page

Intern Spotlight


Daena Lim

Fall 2019 Intern

AP Giannini

Class of 2021

What website do you visit most often?

Youtube

Who inspires you to be the person you are today?

I would say that both of my parents inspires me to be who I am today. I want to follow my parents footsteps of how hardworking and caring they are. I am thankful for all the responsibility and work that they give me. I may not like it at first, but now I realize why they would push me to work so hard and learn so much more than what teachers teach us at school.

Where would you spend all your time if you could?

I would spend all my time at home if I could because my house gives me all the entertainment and resource that I need. It is also very comforting to just stay home all day.

What is the one thing people misunderstand about you?

One thing people misunderstand about me is that I may always be a cheerful person, but I also have all the negative feelings and thoughts inside of me that doesn't show. I am not the type of person to express my feelings well, so people assume that I am someone who is always happy.

What would you do if you knew you were going to die in one hour?

If I knew that I would die in one hour, I would spend all my valuable seconds with my family, friends, or other people that really matters to me.

Beside necessities, what is the one thing you cannot live one day without?

One thing that I cannot live without for just one day is my phone. My phone gives me all the access to great entertainment and also communication with friends and family far away.

If you could make one rule that everyone had to follow, what rule would you make?

One rule that I wish everyone would follow is to help the people in need around you and not be selfish. This way, there'll just be a happier world out there.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

Knowing that I can benefit the community by volunteering motivates me to wake up early to volunteer. Not only that it is beneficial to the community, but I believe that it just makes me delighted to be able to help others without it being a requirement. Sometimes it is still difficult for me to wake up at such an early time. However, just thinking about all the runners who also wake up as early as I am and how they still have high levels of energy pushes me to wake up early to volunteer.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

Just the 1 month that I have been with HIM, I can really feel the impact it has on my life. I can definitely say that it took more time away from my weekends, but in a good way. With the opportunity to volunteer with friends, I feel that we can learn a lot about the people around us and how such a small thing like volunteering can have a huge impact on the community. It also brought me to think about how important HIM is to me because it taught me to step out of my comfort zone because while volunteering, I interacted with a lot more people and it gave me chance to talk to others and speak up for myself. HIM brought together people with the same goal in helping out in the community.

What do you think of HIM Internship Program?

I think that the HIM Internship Program is really helpful in terms of encouraging more people to join leadership. Furthermore, all the lessons and tasks we have increases many important skills. We may not recognize how much we can get from Internship, but we definitely do learn a lot from it.

If life is a game, like some people say, what are some of the rules?

Some of the rules are be honest and don't cheat.

What do you want to be remembered for?

I want to be remembered for having a positive impact on the community and helping people in need. Every single event that I went to makes me feel how much I accomplished and how much help I was to the community.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page