top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Elyssa Ramos

Volunteer

Lowell

Class of 2023

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I became invisible for 10 minutes, I would sneak into the nearest Lizzo concert.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

I would change the amount of representation in society. I believe that some groups have certain privileges over marginalized groups, which may be lost or forgotten. More representation would provide greater diversity, and overall, a safe and happy community.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

My ideal way to spend the weekend is hanging out with friends or spending time alone. As an introvert, I would rather curl up in my bed with a book and binge-watch Netflix. I love to bake pies and cookies, which I usually deliver to my friends’ houses.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could eat only one food, it would be sisig, a traditional Filipino dish. When I visit my family in the Philippines, we make almost every meal together and the feeling of community is carried in the food.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I have learned in my life is becoming a life-long learner. My father taught me the importance of humility and ability to grow despite circumstances. I believe that all people are capable of growth with the

right mindset.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

My dream job would be to become a humanitarian. I would love to travel the world, experience other cultures, and find solutions to global issues. My background in mechanical and computer engineering would allow me to provide temporary structures and efficient water transportation to those in need.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

My friends motivate me to wake up early. When I finally have my cup of coffee, I love to see smiles on runners’ faces after giving them high fives.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations?

I looked forward to the Giants Race the most because it was my first HIM event. I really enjoyed meeting HIM leadership and volunteers around the Bay Area.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

My experience has been great so far. Though I’m glad to volunteer with my friends from school, I have made many new friends through HIM events.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has opened my eyes to the many forms of community service—from distributing food to spreading cheer at Charity Runs. These simple acts make me feel fulfilled.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page