top of page

Officer Spotlight


Ivy Tan

Membership Junior Coordinator

Balboa High School

Class of 2023

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

I would just enjoy getting some peace and quiet.

What motivates you the most?

My family and friends are what motivate me. They set great expectations of what I want to be like and how I can improve myself.

How important do you think it is to ‘Build Character’?

Building character is basically you. If you don't have any character then you won't be yourself. Don't try to fit yourself into a box or stereotype that isn't you. Be honest with who you are and freely express yourself.

What is your current HIM position and what are your responsibilities in that position?

I am currently a Membership Junior Coordinator. My responsibilities are making sure the new member feels welcomed and helping new members feel at home.

How do you want to be remembered?

I want to be remember for making an impact on someone's life. It doesn't have to be some grand thing, as long as someone remembers me I will be content.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

If you give up on the first time, you'll never learn anything.

What is your favorite TV show and character?

I don't really watch TV or have a favorite character but I absolutely adore characters who are strong and independent.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life it would be ramen. Since the food itself can be enjoyed many times over and over again with boredom, I think it would great to only eat this delicious dish.

What is it like to be part of HIM Leadership Crew?

HIM Leadership Crew is awesome and I definitely enjoy working alongside my fellow crew mates. They are all so passionate and dedicated that I can't help but to feed into their happy vibe.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

From being more responsible to learning how to deal with waking up early, it has nearly improved in all aspects of my life. I find myself being more outspoken and sociable since joining Leadership. I feel like I'm less shy and able to take on more responsibility.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

I love working with people in general and I honestly don't really mind the early call times. Yes, sometimes waking up at 5 AM in the morning really ruins my sleep schedule but in the end it's all worth it!

What advice can you offer to those thinking of joining the Leadership Program?

Some advice would be to stay in the program, it really helps! Although it may take up your evenings and tests can be nerve-wracking, just make sure you understand that it's not the reward of becoming an official part of Leadership, it's the bumps along the way during Internship that really teach you valuable life lessons.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page