top of page

Officer Spotlight


Kelly Liu

Internship Program Manager

Lowell High School

Class of 2022

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do? If I became invisible for 10 minutes right now, I would love to ring on my neighbor's doorbells and leave them a plate of cookies to brighten up their day!

What motivates you the most? Someone that motivates me the most is my father because he gives me a sense of direction when I'm lost in the decisions I make and often encourages me to step out my comfort zone.

How important do you think It Is to ‘Build Character’? I think it's super important to Build Character because as a lifelong goal, it defines building my success through failures and allows me to come out as my better self.

What is your current HIM position and what are your responsibilities in that position? My current position in HIM is an Internship Program Manager. As an Internship Program Manager, I make sure the lesson between the coordinator and interns runs smoothly, and constantly communicate and interact between coordinators, interns, Executive Director Ms.Dy and her board. Communicating and Interacting with coordinators and interns also includes making sure everyone is well and on task. As an Internship Program Manager, I am able to become a problem solver to unexpected situations and be able to work with the materials I have.

How do you want to be remembered? I want to be remembered as a person who stands up and works towards achieving to live myself. I hope by doing this, I am inspiring others to be more open about their own ideas and be able to share them without having the fear of rejection because I believe these ideas can prosper to build great things around the world.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life? One of the most valuable lesson I learned was that the only obstacle you have to achieve great things is yourself. We are often living in a mindset where we are easily defeated by something that doesn't go according to our plans. This makes us forget that we have the ability to stand back up, improvise and find solutions to solve the problem. We might not have the ability to control the outcome but we are fully capable to building the process to achieving our goals.

What is your favorite TV show and character? My favorite TV show and character is definitely Eleven from Stranger Things.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why? If I could eat one food for the rest of my life it would be ramen because taking a sip of the soup on a cold day is the best feeling!

What is it like to be part of HIM Leadership Crew? Being in the HIM Leadership Crew is like having a second family. The people are always there for me inside and outside the organization even if it means to just check up with me to see how I'm feeling on certain days. We spend a lot of time communicating with each other and working together to get our tasks done in leadership. A lot of the work and progress we have built in this program took more than one person to achieve and that's how success is created; through the hands of everyone.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has brought an positive impact to my life so far as it teaches me to manage my time better and be more flexible with situations I face.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

I am always motivated to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run because of the people I know I'm going to see there volunteering with me.

What advice can you offer to those thinking of joining the Leadership Program?

Something I advise for those who are thinking of joining the leadership Program is to go for it. I think you should cherish all opportunities given to you because it gives you more options in the future when you have more experiences. You are losing nothing from trying something new, but you will only be at an disadvantage if you don't try because you will never be able to find your outcome from joining the leadership program.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page