top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Beverly Yip and Ethan Yip

St Thomas the Apostle School

Class of 2021 and 2024

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

Beverly: If I became invisible for 10 minutes right now, I would go on a big stage where I get to face 2000 people in audience. I would imagine myself giving an important speech to them, or singing a song, or acting in a play. That would have been a wonderful experience.

Ethan: If I became invisible for 10 minutes right now, I would be on the same court where the Golden State Warriors are playing. I would finally meet the players that I usually only see on TV.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

Beverly: If I could change something in the world, I'd wish that every disease in the world would disappear forever. That would include the coronavirus. People would stay healthy and there wouldn't be plagues anymore. Instead of being frightened, we would be productive and hopeful.

Ethan: I would want nobody to get upset. The world would be peaceful. A peaceful world is a better place.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

Beverly: The ideal way to spend the weekend would be to doing some work in the morning - so I don't feel unproductive. After work is done, I would hang out with my best friend. We would take a walk to the park or some bakeries. We would end the day with a sleepover with a lot of snacks.

Ethan: My ideal way to spend the weekend would include a lot of basketball playing time. Another idea is to go to Hawaii for the weekend. I get to visit my grandfather and swim in the warm ocean water.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

Beverly: If I could only eat one food for my entire life, it would be noodles! I love all kinds of noodles - ramen, udon, pho; you name it. I love noodles in soup, dry noodles, fried noodles... I don't think I would ever get tired of eating them.

Ethan: It would be ice cream. I love ice cream because it is relaxing to my body.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life? Beverly: The most valuable lesson I have ever learned is that you need to be independent. You can't always rely on others for help or support. The earlier you learn to become independent, the easier life will be for you later on. If you rely on other people's help, you will struggle more later in life.

Ethan: The most valuable lesson I have learned in my life is that practice makes progress. One can never be perfect. But one can continue to improve himself or herself.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

Beverly: If all jobs had the same pay and hours, I would choose to be an orthodontist. Ever since I was in third grade, I knew this was the job I wanted to pursue. I began wearing a retainer at 9. Ever since then, I had some sort of interest with fixing people's teeth. I want to help others have a better smile.

Ethan: I would like to be an NBA player because basketball is my favorite sport. I get paid for doing something I enjoy - that's pretty awesome.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

Beverly: I wake up early to volunteer for Charity Run because it helps me as well as my community. I get a sense of accomplishment for helping out at events. I learn new skills while having fun. And most importantly, I want to contribute to my community.

Ethan: Waking up early to volunteer feels special to me. I don't usually get up that early. I am motivated because volunteering is good for my community.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations? Beverly: The event that I looked forward to the most was the Hot Chocolate Run. It has exceeded my expectations. I was impressed by how organized it was for an event of this scale. Volunteers had plenty of supplies and a huge working area.

Ethan: The event I most looked forward to was the Hot Chocolate Run. The size of the crowded was much bigger than I had expected. I was one of the hundreds of volunteers and my cousin was one of the runners.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

Beverly: My experience with HIM has been great. I am impressed by the number of volunteers that come out and help at events. The people I work with are several years older than me and treat me friendly. I also love the snacks we get to sample after the events.

Ethan: I love working with HIM. I get to meet new people and help my community. After the event, I get to take breaks and have some snacks.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

Beverly: Heart In Motion has made me more willing to help out my community. Now that I have some experience, I realize that volunteering is an excellent way to meet like-minded people. There are so many good people out there who generously give their time to help good causes.

Ethan: Through volunteering, I get to meet new people and learn important skills.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page