top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Christina Huang

Volunteer

Lawton Alternative School

Class of 2021

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I became invisible right now I would sneak into a fancy five star restaurant and taste test all of the food. Most of the five star restaurants are over priced and I always wanted to see how good the food actually was.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

If I had the power to change the word I would end world hunger because it is one of the worlds challenging problems. More than eight million people don't have enough food, it is heartbreaking to see people around the world die of hunger. I believe that everyone should have access to enough food and no one should be left hungry.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

My ideal weekend would be running across the Golden Gate Bridge, enjoying the breeze of the ocean and watching the sunset. I would like this to happen some day but I despise running long distances and I am always unproductive sleeping past noon during the weekends.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life it would be dumplings. There are all types of dumplings wontons, potstickers, soup dumplings, you name it! Dumplings are filling and I can never get tired of them.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I've learned is becoming independent and not relying on others all the time. If you depend on others all the time its seems like they are controlling your life and one day they won't be there for you,so you have to figure things by yourself. Being independent means that you have responsibilities and making decisions on your own, knowing the differences between what right and wrong is.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, I would want to become a pastry chef. I have always loved to make desserts and it would be nice to cook for other people, since I don't do that very often. Desserts always make people happy so I would love to see people enjoying the food I make

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

What motivates me to wake up early for Charity Runs is that I get to contribute toward a good cause with a small action of mine. Along with contributing I get to experience learning new things.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations?

I looked forward to the Hot Chocolate Run event, I was very impressed they were able to handle hundreds of volunteers and how organized all the stations were. It was a fun experience making the mugs and drowning in the smell of chocolate.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

Working with HIM has been a wonderful experience, there is a welcoming, supporting and friendly community that is very easy to talk to. HIM has also given me the opportunity of meeting new people that are around my age and even adults.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has made a positive impact on my life, I've learned that my small action can make a big impact toward a community. HIM also gave me a purpose in life, doing something early in the morning making myself feel productive.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page