top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Aileen Barrios

Volunteer

El Camino High School

Class of 2021

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

I would take a nap because it makes me feel refreshed after waking up. Other than that, I'd just go about my day normally.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

I would change people's mentality and encourage them to be accepting and compassionate because it would facilitate a world in which such kindness spreads--where anyone can mature into a person they can be proud of.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

My ideal way to spend the weekend is to watch anime, take naps and go for walks at a park.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

I would eat fried rice because it is a complete meal with meat, carbohydrates and vegetables.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I have learned is knowing when to seek help from others as I would understand my limitations from attempting a task independently and be aware of skills I could improve on with assistance from others.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

I would like to be a professional dancer because dancing helps maintain my physical and emotional health and allows me to convey messages I am unable to with words.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

Knowing that I get to help others even through little actions and being able to contribute to the compassionate atmosphere motivates me to wake up early for a Charity Run.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations?

The Kaiser Half Run was what I highly anticipated and it exceeded my expectations as I felt that I expanded my comfort level in exceeding it with my group when we successfully helped hand out most of the crackers at our table.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

I've had a good experience working with HIM because so many people are welcoming and supportive and I feel encouraged to grow as a person and develop my group skills as part of the team.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has helped deepen my appreciation for volunteering because being part of a supportive team has exposed me to the joy and feeling of fulfillment one gets when helping others out.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page