top of page

Officer Spotlight

Clara Zhen

Executive Assistant & Internship Senior

Coordinator

A.P Giannini

Class of 2021

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

I can imagine it would be really interesting to be invisible for just a few mins. Being able to be in a room where people know who I am, but they do not know I am there and being able to hear what is said whilst I am not around. The only problem with that I guess would be that you would have to be prepared to maybe hear some things you never thought friends and family would say about you, with them not being able to see you, they would feel safe enough to say things behind your back, but if I did become invisible for 10 mins, I would still probably want to hear what others are saying about me.

What motivates you the most? I find that reaching both small and large milestones towards a goal as a success. I find that success is a process where challenges would be used to motivate me to see things from different perspectives and to find creative solutions. Facing challenges help me grow personally, at the same time, hopefully, make progress toward the program objectives. Making a meaningful difference in the community motivates me to strive for excellence in everything I do.

How important do you think It Is to ‘Build Character’?

Building character is critical in order to succeed. This is what allows each individual to be authentic and unique. No matter who you are, it is important to understand how your character affects your actions and the way you perform.

What is your current HIM position and what are your responsibilities in that position?

I am currently an internship senior coordinator and executive assistant at Heart in Motion. Some of my responsibilities include teaching new interns and helping out other departments. Being a contributing member is something I'm passionate about and is also very important to me. Completing tasks and responsibilities are important to maintain the integrity of the program, and would aid in the leadership aspect of HIM.

How do you want to be remembered?

I would like to be remembered not just as someone who is kind, dedicated, and enjoys helping others. I want to truly be someone who is kind, dedicated, and enjoys helping others, whether I am remembered for it or not. I don't need nor do I expect any recognition for the things I do. All I can ask for is to have my legacy be as authentic as possible, and that it is true to myself.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

I have always been taught to give back to the community that gives to you, so it has always been a part of me to make myself useful in any way possible way.

What is your favorite TV show and character? I do not enjoy spending my free time watching TV, so I do not have a favorite show or character.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life, it wouldn't really matter what it was as long as it has all the nutrients I need in order to live a long and healthy life.

What is it like to be part of HIM Leadership Crew?

Being a part of the HIM leadership crew is a great opportunity. Everyone is kind and always ready to help. It feels really nice to have people supporting you and working through things using cumulative effort.

What advise can you offer to those thinking of joining the Leadership Program?

The leadership program is a fun way to enhance your leadership and organizational skills. If you plan to join, don't be afraid to be yourself and get out of your comfort zone because it is beneficial for anyone to move more toward their fears. You may experience things you may never have had because someone once said, "Great things never came from comfort zones".


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page