top of page

Intern Spotlight

Megan Chan

Summer 2016 Intern

South San Francisco

Class of 2019

What are your hobbies?

I love playing golf, badminton, and basketball. I was on the golf and badminton team last school year. I also like watching the professionals play basketball, golf, and baseball. I am a huge Warriors and Giants fan! I enjoy going to their games and watching the players! Last, but definitely not least, I love eating stadium food!

How did Heart In Motion impact your life?

Heart in Motion has impacted my life in a positive way. I have become a better person, as I am able to help others. The feeling when you are volunteering for a good cause is priceless. It is fun to volunteer, and also meet new people.

How did you find out about Leadership?

I found out about leadership from my friend who did internship last summer. She enjoyed it very much and introduced me to it. She told me how much fun it was so I decided to apply. I could step out of my comfort zone and do something different than I would normally do.

Why did you join Leadership?

I joined leadership because I thought it would be an interesting experience. I wanted to learn more about the processes behind Heart in Motion and help out the best I could. I also thought it would be great to contribute to an organization that benefits such a great cause. During this process, I would not only learn about Heart in Motion, but also life lessons along the way.

Why do you think you were chosen for this spotlight?

I think I was chosen for this Spotlight because of my positive attitude and energy. I try to see the good in situations, and do something about it, as opposed to giving up or getting frustrated. I try to have an upbeat spirit and encourage others during tough times or just overall daily life. Being happy and positive is contagious, so it just takes one person to start spreading the happiness! I also have a hardworking and persevering mindset. I work hard in everything I do.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

One of my favorite events from Heart in Motion was the Hot Chocolate Expo. It was my first event, and I went with my friend who introduced me to leadership and her sister. Our job was to pass out goodie bags to the runners, and their smiles were priceless. I knew that I was helping them and they were thankful for that.

What is the most valuable skill you have gained from Leadership?

The most valuable skill I have learned from leadership so far is learning how to fill out an electronic waiver. I didn't know how to fill it out on my phone before, but I figured it out so that I don't need a computer. This might seem like a small skill for others, but it made me immensely happy when I finally figured it out. I hope that one day I will be able to use this skill, and pass it on to others as well.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page