top of page

Officer Spotlight


Maya Wang

Executive Assistant and Internship Junior Coordinator

Lowell High School

Class of 2023

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do? I would be in disbelief for at least a minute. After I overcome the initial shock, I would take a short video of myself to prove to the doubters that I was actually invisible. Then I would go scare my sister, my cat, and my dad. They always manage to scare me (yes, unfortunately, sometimes I'm scared by a cat) but I can never seem to scare them back. So I think it would be hilarious if I managed to spook them for once.

What motivates you the most? My parents, my sister, my cousins, and my friends all motivate me to work hard and be the best version of me I can be.

How important do you think It Is to ‘Build Character’? It is of upmost importance to build character, because this is what distinguishes you from everyone else and allows you to be successful in life. Personally, building character also allows me to reflect on myself and get to know my flaws, skills, and motivations better. It makes me think deeper and question myself.

What is your current HIM position and what are your responsibilities in that position? I am an Executive Assistant, as well as an Internship Junior Coordinator. As an EA, I help oversee all four Leadership departments under the guidance of the directors. I will help directors or any of the departments with tasks if needed. As an Internship JC, I teach interns about Leadership and HIM. I also answer their questions, if they have any.

How do you want to be remembered? I want to be known as someone who would always work hard, but also laugh and have fun while getting the job done. Additionally, I'd like to be known as someone who always lends a helping hand when needed.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life? I have three! 1.) Always have a game plan. However, be ready to change that plan if needed. 2.) The most important things you learn in life don't always come from a book. 3.) Don't procrastinate.

What is your favorite TV show and character? My favorite TV show is Marvel's Agents of SHIELD and my favorite character is Leo Fitz.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why? My normal order of beef tacos from Chipotle. Simply because I really wish I was eating some right now.

What is it like to be part of HIM Leadership Crew?

I love being in Leadership! Before I joined, I was hesitant when asked to lead a project or head a new idea. I've only been in Leadership for one term, but I feel like I have gained so much more confidence and not been so nervous to take initiative. Additionally, I've greatly improved my writing skills and learned how to use Dropbox, Canva, and more! Leadership is one big, extended family. Part of the reason I love Leadership so much is because I know I can always chat with other members about anything, because they are all so friendly and supportive of you.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

I haven't been with HIM for long, but it has positively impacted my life so far. I love how we are all working together to achieve a common goal - to give back to our communities and make a difference in the world by serving from our hearts. I can't wait to be able to volunteer at events after COVID-19 is over.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

I haven't volunteered for a charity run yet, but in general I love volunteering because I know I get to make a positive impact in someone's life, whether it be big or small. Seeing the participants' smiles make me smile too because I know I just made their day a little bit better, and helping others out makes me really happy. Additionally, I know I'll have a blast volunteering with my friends because they're so fun to be around, even at odd times like 6 in the morning! And when you're volunteering with your friends, any task is fun!

What advice can you offer to those thinking of joining the Leadership Program?

It's definitely worth applying! Leadership might sound intimidating, but it's actually an amazing community full of kids your age! It's a great opportunity to improve and gain many important skills you'll eventually need in later life. Additionally, you can discover what it's like to work in a professional work environment so you'll be more prepared and experienced for work in the future. Plus, you can volunteer at so many different events and learn how much fun it can be to give back to the community!


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page