top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Rachel Li

Volunteer

Raoul Wallenberg Traditional High School

Class of 2021

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I became invisible for 10 minutes right now, I would probably video call my friends and spook them out. It would be fun to prank my friends especially since I can’t go visit them personally. I would also take some funny pictures of myself and send them to my friends and family. It would be a fun way to connect with people.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

If I had the power to change one thing in the world, I would want to make it so that there will be no violence whether it be on people or on the earth. The Earth has gone through a lot and is currently being polluted with trash and green house gases. It has also been burning up a lot so I wish people would be kinder to the planet. The world would be a lot better if everyone was kind to others as well.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

My ideal way to spend the weekend would be eating good food with friends and family on a sunny but breezy day. I would also love to see and pet some cute dogs or go to a museum. Having a peaceful day not worrying about school would be the best way to spend a weekend. To end it off I would probably eat some of my favorite snacks and watch a good tv show or movie.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life it would be hotpot because you can cook vegetables, noodles, and meat with it while also having a large variety of sauces and soup bases. It would be hard to get sick of hotpot with such variety. Some hotpot places also give fruit as desserts so I would consider that part of hotpot as well. This way I would have a complete diet while eating good food.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I’ve learned in life is knowing that your mindset can change your outlook on life so by thinking that you can’t do something, you are limiting your own potential. You have the power to make your life, use it. Once you believe in yourself and take care of yourself, you open the door to many opportunities. This lesson has changed the way I live and I believe it has made me a lot happier and content with myself as well.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

I would love to run a restaurant or cafe because of my love for cooking. I’ve always dreamed of it but don’t have the money or skill to do so. I have a lot of ideas for how it would look like and what I would serve but I wouldn’t know how it would work out. Otherwise I would love to get paid to travel the world and eat good food since I love traveling.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

Knowing that people are grateful for my help motivates me to wake up early to volunteer. Being able to make someone’s day or help someone out is an amazing feeling. I also get to see my friends while volunteering which makes it really fun. Some friends go to different schools and I don’t get to see them often but by volunteering we can meet.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations?

I looked forward to Nihonmachi Street Fair the most because I had always missed out on the Cherry Blossom festival. It definitely did live up to my expectations as the fair was full of people and made me proud that I was a helping hand for this fair. It was a fun event and I hope to volunteer for it again. The volunteer t-shirt is also one of my favorites because of the design.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

I’ve gotten closer to my friends through volunteering with HIM and have been able to make many unforgettable experiences that have broadened my outlook on life. Through volunteering I have gotten a better grasp at what running an event is like. I also learned a lot about marathons and how they work. I’ve also picked up a bunch of skills through volunteering like knowing the best way to store clothing hangers in a box.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

I’ve gotten closer to my friends through volunteering with HIM and have been able to make many unforgettable experiences that have broadened my outlook on life. Through volunteering I have gotten a better grasp at what running an event is like. I also learned a lot about marathons and how they work. I’ve also picked up a bunch of skills through volunteering like knowing the best way to store clothing hangers in a box.​


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page