top of page

Officer Spotlight


Jeffrey Lee

Membership Coordinator

Lowell

Class of 2018

When did you start volunteering with Heart In Motion?

I started volunteering with Heart in Motion in fall 2014 as a freshman. My first event was the SF Food Bank, when I helped package bags of rice to be distributed to families in need. Since I enjoyed taking time out of my weekend to help others less fortunate in the local community, I decided to sign up for more events. I started volunteering much more often in early 2016, when I joined the internship program.

Why did you start volunteering with HIM?

I joined HIM because I knew I wanted to take part in a volunteering group at my school. I enjoyed the thought of gaining hours of community service, so that I could spend my free time productively and help the needy at the same time. When I first discovered HIM, I was surprised at how large of an organization it was, spanning many schools throughout the Bay Area. Not only did it provide so many events throughout the year, it enabled motivated members to assume leadership positions through the internship program.

Which events did you enjoy the most? Why?

I really enjoyed volunteering at Hot Chocolate because of the chocolate I received at the end, of course. I have volunteered twice at this event, both times during chilly January mornings. Of all the events, this was one of the earliest I had to wake up in the morning, at around 5:00 am. Despite feeling really tired and working frantically to keep up with the thousands of runners, it felt great being rewarded with some snacks to dip in chocolate.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

Overall, working with HIM has been such a valuable experience, particularly in strengthening my technological and communication skills. As compared to before I had joined HIM, I am much more open now in speaking to my peers, as well as complete strangers at events. Through my journey through the internship program into becoming an officer, I have become much more tech-savvy with the role of keeping organized records online. Now as a coordinator, it feels rewarding to hold a leadership position allowing great power and responsibility.

What are your favorite hobbies?

Music is part of my daily routine. Whenever I'm on the bus or feeling bored, I love blasting my favorite songs on my headphones and drowning out any outside noises, escaping from reality. It is also a really good stress reliever after a long, mentally exhausting day at school. I also like to binge-watch YouTube videos and sleep all day.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page