top of page

Intern Spotlight


Kimberly Chang

Spring 2017 Intern

Lowell

Class of 2020

How has community service impacted your life?

Community service has helped me understand how to give back to others who are in need of help. It fills me with great joy and happiness after every volunteer experience, and leaves me with a big smile on my face.

Why did you start volunteering with HIM?

I really wanted to go out of my comfort zone to meet new people, and what better way to do that than by volunteering with others? Some of my tennis teammates told me about HIM, and I was very interested. Joining HIM was an unquestionable choice- I knew that it would enjoy it whether I was scrambling to find a bib number or helping pass out goodies to racers.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

One of my favorite memories was my first event, the Golden Gate Half Marathon. I didn't know anyone, but a couple of members introduced themselves and we volunteered together while talking to each other. It was really cool to be included in the HIM family right away and start newfriendships at my first event.

Which events did you enjoy the most? Why?

I enjoyed the Hot Chicolate Run. Members had to get up around 4:30 AM in the pouring rain to prepare, and it was incredible to see how committed and dedicated we were to helping the community. I was doing the Hot Chocolate Shift along with many other people, and although hectic at times with my shoes drenched in water, I met many friends and had a wonderful time passing out goodies to the runners.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

My experience has been absolutely incredible! I've learned so much about volunteering and service from the heart. Being an intern, I've also realized that running HIM is a team thing, and that we all work together to make a great volunteering club.

Who is your biggest role model?

My biggest role models are my parents. They encourage and support me through everything, and they've provided so much for me. They put their lives on hold for my brother and I, and I look up to them.

What kind of music do you listen to? Any favorite artists?

I listen to pop music, usually the songs on the radio. Three of my favorite artists are Alex Aiono, Conor Maynard, and William Singe. They sing really good covers on YouTube.

What kind of food do you like to eat? Why?​

I love frozen yogurt because there's so many different flavors to choose from, and also the toppings add an extra treat to my dessert. The mochi balls are my favorite topping ;)


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page