top of page

Intern Spotlight


Marc Aronce

Summer '17 Intern

Lowell High School

Class of 2020

List the three things you would bring with you onto a deserted island and why.

Something I would bring with me to a deserted island is sunscreen to protect my skin from the sun and getting sunburns. Something else I would bring with me is a fire starter because I just want it for efficiency. For example, if my campfire goes out at night or something else happens, I can just whip out my fire starter and not have to endure the wait of rubbing sticks together. Lastly, I would bring sunglasses because (I presume) it's going to be extremely sunny there and I need something to protect my eyes.

What is one of your favorite memories or events from HIM?

Out of the eight events I volunteered at so far, the Hot Chocolate Marathon is still one of my favorite events from HIM. Yes I had to wake up early and had to deal with the rain but it paid off because I got to drink a ton of hot chocolate there. It got really messy and chocolate went all over the place, but it's fine because I love chocolate. I also enjoyed seeing the runners smiling and and content after providing them with their finisher mugs full of marshmallows, chocolate fondue, and, of course, the hot chocolate.

What is your favorite part of volunteering?

My favorite part about volunteering is going home at the end of a shift knowing that I made a difference in other peoples' lives. As with most marathons (active events) I volunteered at, such as Rock n Roll, which benefits charities like St. Judes Children Research Hospital. Also, the food pantry I volunteer at, aside from HIM, helps lots of low-income families get food on the table to eat and I knew if I wasn't one of the volunteers helping them out, they wouldn't be able to eat anything. This is one of reasons of why I'm motivated to volunteer at every event is so that I can make another person's life better.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

Working with Heart in Motion has been overall an extraordinary experience. I have been able to learn so many new things and experience new things. I also got to meet lots of new people from other high schools that I got to know. Volunteering has helped me see things that I never even knew about and it gives me a chance to take part in something I love.

Who inspires you to be the person you are today?

I would definitely say that my biggest role model would be my sister, Marcy. I would consider her as role model to me because she would always be positive. She would also remind me that I should be studying hard and know my limits. She reminds me to study hard because she always got the best grades in everything. I would always talk to my sister whenever I needed help or someone to talk to. Although we may fight once and a while we will always be brother and sister.

If you could live in only one city for the rest of your life, where would you live? Why?

I would just stay in San Francisco honestly. The weather here is not too hot and not too cold, which is one of the things I like about living here. Also, there is lots to see and go to in San Francisco, like the Golden Gate, Coit Tower, or Lands End. In addition, I love riding the cable cars, although I don't ride it as often as before though.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page