top of page

Officer Spotlight


Kelly Fong

Membership Program Manager

El Camino

Class of 2019

If you could live in only one city for the rest of your life, where would you live? Why?

I would choose to live in Vancouver, Canada for the rest of my life because it is a place full of hospitality, adventure, and good food. My trip there with my family last summer was unforgettable because everyone was very welcoming and full of happiness. We biked on a long trail, visited famous villages and museums, went canoeing, and took pictures of the sunset. I had delicious dim sum(which was way cheaper than sf) and picked fresh figs and blueberries for the first time. The experience there will always be memorable and living there for the rest of my life would be a dream come true.

Who inspires you to be the person you are today?

My friends, family, and music artists inspire me to be the person I am today. They teach me to build confidence and to just be weird self. the songs I listen to have lots of powerful messages such as staying positive and believing in yourself.

List the three things you would bring with you onto a deserted island and why.

(This reminds me of the lord of the flies) I would bring a survival book, filter for water, and antibiotics/aid kit. Assuming I will be stuck on the island for quite a while, I would need a survival book so I know how to use the resources around me to stay alive. The water is probably not the cleanest so a filter will make sure all the bacteria and contaminants are taken out. And of course, if I got hurt, I will use the aid kit to heal myself.

What is the one thing people misunderstand about you?

One thing people misunderstand about me is that whenever I accidentally make eye contact with them( usually someone I don't talk to), they think I'm a stalker or have something against them. This happens a lot to me when I'm trying to look past the person or behind them. I'm really not the type of person who stares someone down unless they are the ones who do it first.

What are some big challenges you had to overcome? How did you overcome these challenges?

I had to overcome the challenge of stepping out of my comfort zone and presenting an essay or PowerPoint in front of a big class. Speaking in front of a class filled with 30 students or more is not easy. The way I overcome these challenges is to practice over and over and ask others for guidance. Another challenge I continue to face is overcoming failures and mistakes I make. When I fail a test or have an embarrassing moment, I recognize what I need to improve on and learn from it. We all make mistakes and that is what makes us human.

Beside necessities, what is the one thing you cannot live one day without?

I cannot live one day without my dog. He has such a funny and silly personality and I can never get bored when I'm around him. He teaches me a great deal of responsibility and trust.

What is your favorite movie of all time?

Out of all the great movies I saw, I would have to choose Coco. It's an animated movie about a young boy struggling to be a musician, something that is against his family's wishes. This movie is filled with the theme of pursuing your dreams no matter what others might say. I will admit that I cried a few times.. haha

Where do you see yourself in the future? Jobs? Dreams?

I see myself majoring in the science field and STEM and graduating from college. I love dogs and I see myself rescuing and helping them recover/find new homes. My dream is to travel around the world and experience all the different cultures.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

So far, HIM has been a great way for me to go out and volunteer in the San Francisco community. I'm passionate about helping out and enjoy being part of an organization that's filled with lots of opportunities!


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page