top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Justin Lee

Volunteer

George Washington High School

Class of 2021

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

Honestly, I would probably not do anything. Anything I would want to do while invisible, I would probably run out of time. Also, it would take me way too long to think of anything to do with my newfound power for 10 minutes. I am pretty indecisive.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

One thing I would change in the world is to create world peace. Yeah, it’s really cliché but I also think it would be amazing. We could do so many things so much faster and solve more problems than we could right now if everyone pooled resources and were friendly to each other. We wouldn’t have to be racist to each other, no one judging each other, no bias. I think the world would be a much better place. ​

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

My ideal way to spend a weekend would be to hang out with my friends and play tennis. As I don’t get to see my friends from other schools that often, hanging out with them is always my ideal way to spend a weekend, as I like their company. Also, I’ve recently picked up the sport of tennis and I think it’s pretty fun. It’s rewarding to slowly get better at something and if my tennis buddies are free on the weekend, it’s nice to go play with them. ​

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

One food that I would eat for the rest of my life would probably be sandwiches. My reasoning is that what’s stopping you from dictating what’s in the sandwiches? You could get PB&J’s and grilled cheese, sure. But what’s stopping you from having pizza sandwiches? Ice cream sandwiches? Apple sandwiches? Sure, it would suck having to eat everything between two pieces of bread, but it’s better than nothing.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I’ve learned in my life is to cherish your time and enjoy right now for as long as possible. You’re only this old right now and you should make the most of it. My best year of my life, in 7th grade, went by in a flash without me every getting to fully appreciate it. Now, I will never be able to go back and fully appreciate how my life was in 7th grade. It’s important to be able to realize that, if your life is good right now and you enjoy it, to cherish it for as long as possible. And if you are going through a tough spot right now, wait it out. All bad things will come to an end eventually.​

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

My dream job would probably be to be a professional bed warmer. There are certain hotels that hire professional bed warmers to warm up the beds in guest rooms, in order to make the guests more comfy. If it had the same pay as every other job, then yeah! Sign me up. It would probably suck to have to get up from the bed everytime you just got comfy in it though, but oh well.​

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations?

The event I looked the most forward to was the Hot Chocolate Expo. I was excited for it because I had heard it was the most famous marathon of the year. It did live up to the expectations as everyone there was polite, the expo had a ton of sponsors, and it was just generally a good time. Sadly, I wasn’t able to make it to the race day, but that’s okay.​

How has your experience been working with HIM?

My experience with working with HIM has been very good. So far, I’ve never got into a single argument or fight with anyone related to HIM or even with the strangers at the events. I’ve generally always had a good time volunteering at places, and I hope to continue having a good time.​

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has affected my life in so many ways. It allowed me to meet new people, people I have not seen in a while, and even let me get in touch with my friends more often. It let me know the importance of waking up earlier. Before HIM on weekends, I would usually wake up super late. Maybe around 10:30-11:30 and wouldn’t get up until around 12:00. After I experienced these events and waking up at 3 am for a lot of them, I’ve made a conscious effort to try to wake up around 9:00-9:30 on weekends and try to get up at 10:30. It’s not a huge difference, but it’s a start. HIM has allowed me to do all this, while helping people, while getting free items for helping people(which is honestly pretty cool), and it’s just had a pretty big impact on my life. I rate Heart In Motion a 10/10 would totally rate again.​


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page