top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Amy Sullivan

Volunteer

Lowell High School

Class of 2021

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

I would sneak into my dad's brand new car and speed down Lombard street which is known as the crookedest street in the world. Then I would quickly drive back home and hopefully be able to parallel park in the same space and pretend that nothing happened. I would love to do this because I don't have a driver's license nor do I know how to drive so it would be an incredible first memory of driving. I have always dreamed about being able to drive and this would make my dream come true.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why?

I would improve the world's climate to prevent mass extinction. I would lower the world's temperature to avoid extreme flooding, drought, wildfires, etc. This would improve the health of the world and prevent our entire ecosystem from collapsing. It would also improve economic growth in impoverished countries by allowing them to feed the world by advancing their agriculture.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

My ideal way of spending the weekended would be to participate in a triathlon. I would immensely enjoy this because I hate swimming as I am reluctant to drown and get eaten by sharks. I also despise cycling because the seat makes my butt hurt and I do not enjoy leg cramps. I also really dislike running because it causes me to sweat profusely and makes me short of breath.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life, it would be potatoes. There are many variations of cooking and preparing potatoes such as french fries, mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, etc. Potatoes also contain lots of different types of nutrients which allows you to be sustainable without other foods. Unfortunately, potatoes lack vitamin C but as long as I am breathing, I am fine with wrinkles.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

The most valuable lesson I have learned in my life was through track and field. Track and field has taught me a higher level of discipline and I learned that hard work pays off. In preparation for track and field, I would run hills and jog around my neighborhood everyday early in the morning before school. As a result of this regimen, I was able to achieve success by winning multiple races.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

I would like to be a psychologist to help people who are challenged with mental illnesses. I feel that I would change their lives by improving their well being emotionally. Personally, I would find it very rewarding to help people recover from their individual traumas. This would allow me to achieve my personal dreams of helping people to overcome their challenges and allow them to thrive.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

I immensely enjoy being a volunteer for a Charity Run even though I find it extremely challenging to wake up early in the morning. I enjoy volunteering with my friends because we have a great time helping out others which is a great motivator to volunteer in early events. I also enjoy the positive energy the runners have and I find them very inspirational. I also find it very rewarding to be able to give back to the communities I hold in high regard.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations?

The event that I looked forward to the most was volunteering at Lafayette Elementary School's Autumn Carnival. It lived up to my expectations because it was my happiest volunteering event. It was very fun being around joyous and carefree children who were running around with their friends and having a blast. I enjoyed watching the children stumble through their efforts of trying to win various games in their efforts to take home a stuffed animal.

How has your experience been working with HIM?

My experience to date working with HIM has been very rewarding and positive. I have met many of my close friends through volunteering for HIM. I have enjoyed contributing to my community, their special programs, and helping out at various schools. It has helped me to communicate more with friends and adults that I have never met. I admire HIM's nonprofit commitment towards bringing communities together.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has deepened my awareness of community participation and has taught me that it is better to give than receive. I have benefitted from their devotion to help create a positive change towards raising funds towards local charities. I have become a stronger individual socially and have been inspired to help out other charitable groups at my high school. I find it very worthwhile to be a part of HIM's neighborhood activism.


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page