top of page

Officer Spotlight


Jessie Chen

Internship Senior Coordinator

Galileo High School

Class of 2023

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I became invisible for 10 minutes, I would probably try to haunt my family and pretend to be a ghost.

What motivates you the most?

Right now, I think what motivates me most is my sister. She has always set good examples and we’ve been working on homework and doing chores together lately, so that motivates me to actually do something as I have someone to do it with.

How important do you think It Is to ‘Build Character’?

I think it’s important to ‘Build Character’ because it allows us to become stronger and more independent individuals in society. Additionally, it is what shapes who I am and how I’m accepted as a person. For example, loyalty, honesty, and more can be factors that build your character as well as a solid reputation.

What is your current HIM position and what are your responsibilities in that position?

I am currently an Executive assistant as well as Internship Senior Coordinator. I lend a helping hand in any of the departments when needed and I will be teaching lessons to the summer interns! Additionally, I am always there if any intern or even officer needs assistance.

How do you want to be remembered?

I want to be remembered as someone who lent a helping hand when needed and someone who always listened to your problems or if you just wanted to talk.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life?

I believe the most valuable lesson I’ve learned in my life is to listen to myself and lead my own path (with the support of others if needed). I’ve learned so much more from leading my own decisions and I’ve discovered interests and passions I’ve never known before.

What is your favorite TV show and character?

My favorite TV show would have to be Avatar: The Last Airbender and my favorite character is Aang.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life, it would probably be kimbap, which is almost like sushi, because it has a mix of rice, meat, pickled radishes, spinach, cucumber which I could eat without getting tired of for quite a while.

What is it like to be part of HIM Leadership Crew?

Being a part of the HIM leadership crew is like being with your family. They’re always there to support me, talk to me whenever I need, and they have helped me gain more confidence in myself!

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has affected my life in all sorts of ways. Besides knowing how to Dropbox and google suite better, I’ve learned to how better organize my tasks, my time, and I’ve made more friendships than I ever thought I would!

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

Being able to see my friends, volunteer alongside them, and see the runners positive spirits motivates me to wake up early for a charity run.

What advise can you offer to those thinking of joining the Leadership Program?

I would say don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone because you’ll discover much more and also because everyone in leadership is happy to guide you and make lifelong friendships!


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page