top of page

Volunteer Spotlight


Connie Chen

Volunteer

Lowell High School

Class of 2023

If you became invisible for 10 minutes RIGHT NOW, what things would you do?

If I became invisible right now I would go to the refrigerator to get and eat the brown sugar boba ice cream bar. My parents aren't allowing my sister and I to eat ice cream right now so it'd be a great opportunity to.

If you have the power to change one thing in the world, what would it be? Why? If I had the power to change one thing in the world I would end climate change because it has caused many negative effects to earth such as rising sea levels and higher risk for animal extinction.

What would be your ideal way to spend the weekend?

My ideal way to spend the weekend would be to relax at home and watch anime or k-drama but once in a while go hiking or to the beach with my family or friends.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life it would be zongzi which I think is called sticky rice dumplings in English. Zongzi is super filling and delicious. Plus, you can put any ingredients you like as the filling so it can be personalized to your liking.

What is the most valuable lesson you have learned in your life? The most valuable lesson I've learned in life would be to use your voice. What I mean by that is speaking up when you need help or have a question and to share your ideas/opinion. If you don't use your voice, no one will know what you want or need.

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, what job would you like to have?

If all jobs had the same pay and hours, I would like to be a food critic. I'll be taste all types of food and at the same time, travel the world.

What motivates you to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run?

Knowing that I get to help the community with my friends and be part of a good cause motivates me to wake up early to volunteer for a Charity Run.

Which event did you most look forward to? Did it live up to expectations? The Hot Chocolate Run was the event that I was looking forward to the most and it definitely exceeded my expectations. I didn't expect to see so many volunteers from different schools and it was really interesting how everyone worked hard to do their part in the event. It was also a really fun experience and would love to volunteer at that event again.

How has your experience been working with HIM? I've had a great experience working with HIM. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly and there's always someone there if I needed help.

How has HIM affected your life so far?

HIM has made a positive impact in my life. Through HIM, I've been able to meet and interact with people that I've never met before. It also gave me many opportunities to experience things and knowing that I'm helping the community makes me feel happy.​​​​​​


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Favotite Page
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page